DUI Offenders  DUI Consequences  DUI Laws

Wisconsin DUI Laws


Wisconsin DUI Laws made some changes in 2008 to its existing laws to implement stricter rules and punishments.

Drunk driving cases in Wisconsin are oftentimes called operating while intoxicated (OWI) and this can happen in two instances.

The first one is an intoxication of alcohol, drugs, or alcohol and drugs that may impair your driving. It doesn’t necessarily mean that you are driving the vehicle for you to be arrested as long as you turned on the ignition and the motor is running you can be charged with OWI.

A blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher will also qualify as an OWI case in the state of Wisconsin.

When a police officer pulls you over, you will be given two citations. The first citation is for the OWI offense. The second citation is for retaining a prohibited alcohol concentration (PAC) in your system. These two tickets have the same penalties.

The arrest will trigger two separate cases. The first case is a criminal court case where your penalties, fines, and educational programs are decided upon and handed out.

The administrative case is another case you will face that involves the suspension of your driver’s license. Since there won’t be an automatic hearing for this latter case, you are advised to file for a hearing request 10 days from the receipt of your ticket citations, or else it will result to the automatic suspension of your driver’s license. Filing a hearing request is hard work and requires the technical expertise of a DUI lawyer so it is best to hire an experienced lawyer.

If you are convicted of OWI, you will face the following penalties, fines, and license suspensions:

1. First OWI conviction – fine from $150 to $300, alcohol assessment, and license suspension from 6 to 9 months with the possibility to apply for an occupational license providing SR22 insurance is presented;
2. Second OWI conviction – jail time from 5 days to 6 months, fines from $300 to $1,100, and license suspension from 12 to 18 months with the possibility to apply for an occupational license after 60 days provided an SR22 insurance is presented; and
3. Third OWI conviction – jail time from 30 days to 1 year, fines from $600 to $2,000, and license suspension from 2 to 3 years with the possibility to apply for an occupational license after 90 days provided an SR22 insurance is presented.

For the succeeding offenses committed, the same rules still apply to the OWI offense but it has higher penalties and fines. Wisconsin DUI Laws also specify alcohol assessment, vehicle impoundment and forfeiture, and installation of ignition interlock devices in all your vehicles at your own expense.