DUI Offenders  DUI Consequences  DUI Laws

Washington DUI Laws


Washington DUI Laws,  like any state in the country cite instances where you can be arrested for DUI.

One is based on the per se law where a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more is considered driving under the influence. For under 21 drivers, the limit is set at 0.02% or more, and for commercial vehicle drivers, the limit is at 0.04% or more.

The state’s drunk driving cases are called driving under influence (DUI) or sometimes driving while intoxicated (DWI). The state has a washout period of 7 years, wherein after this period a DUI offense will not be considered a previous offense, but a new offense altogether.

The state may employ almost the same rules and regulations as any state, but the Seattle Municipal Court has its own unique set of rules that require attention.

If you have committed a DUI offense in the Seattle area, hire yourself a competent DUI lawyer who knows the special policies and is familiar with the local practices of the area. The court demands that within 48 hours of the next business day you should put in an appearance. During this appearance, the prosecutor will request substantial bail and pretrial release conditions on all DUI cases. Personal checks and credit cards are not accepted by the court to pay your bail.

Two set of cases are generated once you have been arrested. A criminal case and a Department of Licensing hearing can both cause you to lose your license. If you don’t want an automatic license suspension, you can request a license suspension hearing within 30 days of your arrest date. Together with the proper hearing request, you also have to enclose a $100 fee that will cover the costs of the hearing.

Washington DUI Laws impose strict penalties and sanctions to DUI offenders. Some of these are:

1. First DUI conviction – jail time of 24 hours to 1 year or electronic home monitoring for 15 days, fines from $865.50 to $5,000, and license suspension for 90 days;
2. Second DUI conviction – jail time of 30 days to 1 year, mandatory electronic home monitoring for 60 days, fines from $1,120.50 to $5,000, and license suspension for 2 years; and
3. Third DUI conviction – jail time of 90 days to 1 year, mandatory electronic home monitoring for 120 days, fines from $1,970.50 to $5,000, and license suspension for 3 years.

Aside from these penalties and fines, if you have exceeded to 0.15% BAC the jail time and fines can reach up to twofold. An ignition interlock device is also installed in all the vehicles of the person. Plus, you can also be imposed to take an alcohol and drug education.