DUI Offenders  DUI Consequences  DUI Laws

Vermont DUI Laws


Vermont DUI Laws stipulates that although there are many factors that can affect your BAC score, once you have reached the 0.08% limit, you can be arrested for a DUI offense.

Another stipulation is if you are intoxicated with alcohol or drugs and your driving skill is impaired. This case will have to be the police officer’s call during the arrest base on evidence like driving patterns, physical signs and symptoms, and field sobriety tests. The BAC limit for all drivers is 0.08%, but for minors it is set at 0.02% or higher, and for commercial vehicle drivers, it is set at 0.04% or higher.

If you qualify in any one of the two instances stated above, you can be arrested. Two cases will be charged against you. Before making any decision, try to hire a DUI defense lawyer who will look out for your best interest and help you with these two cases. The criminal court case is in charge of handling the penalties and fines of your offense.

A Department of Motor Vehicle case takes charge of your license suspension. Ask your lawyer to help you make a request for hearing correctly. Requesting for a hearing will give you the chance to plead your driving rights.

Vermont DUI Laws include a lot of punishments and sanctions for DUI offenses. Between the two cases filed against you, if you are found guilty of a DUI offense, you will receive the following sanctions:

1. First DUI offense – maximum jail time of 2 years, fine of up to $750, license suspension for 90 days, and DUI surcharges of $160;
2. Second DUI offense – maximum jail time of 2 years, maximum fine of $1,500, license suspension for 18 months, and DUI surcharges of $160; aside from this, a minimum community service of 200 hours or a maximum of 60 hours of consecutive jail time must be served; and
3. Third DUI offense – maximum jail time of 5 years, maximum fine of $2,500, lifetime license suspension, and DUI surcharges of $160; additionally, your vehicle may be subject to impoundment, you will also be asked to render 400 hours of community service or 1,000 hours of consecutive jail time.

Vermont is one of the few states that do not have any washout or lookback period. This can only mean one thing, no matter how long you have committed your previous offenses; these will always stay in your record. Since this is the case, you will always have difficulty applying for an insurance policy. These insurance companies tend to shy away from individuals who have DUI offense in their record.