DUI Offenders  DUI Consequences  DUI Laws

Oklahoma DUI Laws


Oklahoma DUI Laws are strict when it comes to implementing punishments and sanctions for DUI offense.

Like most states in the country, you can be arrested for DUI if a police officer observes that your driving pattern is impaired similar to that of an intoxicated person. In this case, no BAC test is necessary because the evidence will be based on the driver’s capability to drive like a sober person would.

The other reason why you can be arrested for DUI is if your blood alcohol content is 0.08% or more. For minors under 21, a BAC of 0.02% or zero tolerance is considered DUI. For commercial vehicle drivers, the BAC limit is set at 0.04% or more.

If you are arrested, Oklahoma DUI Laws state that you will face two charges. The first charge is a criminal court case where your penalties like jail time, fines, and community service are decided. The second case is a Department of Public Safety case where you will be given the chance to request for a hearing 15 days within the arrest date. If you fail to file the hearing request within the given period, you license will be automatically suspended.

In 2010 to solidify the campaign of the State of Oklahoma against drunk driving, the Aaron Gillming Act was signed. The law mandates that if a driver is found guilty of a DUI, even if it is a first offense, be required to participate in an alcohol and drug abuse substance abuse evaluation and assessment program.

If found guilty of driving under the influence in Oklahoma, the following are the jail time, fines, and penalties:

1. First DUI conviction – jail time from 10 days to 1 year, fines up to $1,000, license suspension for 30 days, and participation in the assessment and evaluation for treatment;
2. Second DUI conviction – jail time from 1 to 5 years or treatment and jail time, fines up to $2,500, license suspension for 6 months, and participation in the assessment and evaluation for treatment; and
3. Third and subsequent DUI conviction – jail time from 1 to 20 years, fines up to $1,000, license suspension for 1 year, community service for 480 hours, participation in the assessment and evaluation for treatment, and 1 year supervision and periodic testing.

The fines for a driver who is carrying a child under 18 in his vehicle at the time of his arrest will pay double the DUI fine amount. Moreover, applying for a license reinstatement can also be possible with the condition to install an ignition interlock device in all vehicles once approved.