DUI Offenders  DUI Consequences  DUI Laws

Nevada DUI Laws


Nevada DUI Laws stipulate the same rules as other state laws when it comes to drink driving. A blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more will constitute a DUI offense in Nevada.

Furthermore, a minor under 21 who has consumed enough alcohol to reach the 0.02% or higher BAC limit, set by the state, can be arrested.

For commercial vehicle drivers, any amount of alcohol that can be detected in the system is considered DUI. The state of Nevada states that you don’t have to necessarily be drunk to be arrested for DUI, as long as your driving skill is impaired and this can be determined by a police officer, you can go to jail for it.

Nevada DUI Laws state that if you are caught driving while intoxicated with alcohol or drugs, you can be subjected to a BAC test to check the alcohol content in your system. Although other states in the country give you the right to refuse to take the exam, the state of Nevada does not. The arresting officer is given the authority to use force to get a blood sample from your system.

If your test results are positive, you will be prosecuted in two cases. The criminal court case will determine the duration of your jail time, the fines you need to pay, and other important punishments based on the DUI offense committed. The Department of Motor Vehicle case will determine the license suspension duration. You have to request for a hearing from the DMV to protect your driving rights.

If found guilty, the following penalties and sanctions will apply:

1. First DUI offense – jail time of 2 days to 6 months, fines from $400 to $1,000, and license suspension of 90 days. The court may allow community service of 96 hours in lieu of jail time depending on some circumstances;
2. Second DUI offense – this applies if the offense is done within a 7-year period of the previous offense; jail time of 10 days to 6 months, fines from $750 to $1,000, license suspension of 1 year, and community service for 100 to 200 hours; and
3. Third and subsequent DUI offense – jail time of 1 to 6 years, fines from $2,000 to $5,000, and license suspension of 3 years.

Aside from this, you will also be subjected to a DUI treatment program and your vehicle registration will be suspended. After you have served a certain period of your license suspension you can apply a license reinstatement and install an ignition interlock device into your vehicles if approved by the courts.

In all this proceedings, it is best to hire an experienced DUI defense lawyer to help you.