DUI Offenders  DUI Consequences  DUI Laws

Nebraska DUI Laws


Nebraska DUI Laws impose strict penalties and fines for DUI offenses. The laws in Nebraska stipulate that you cannot drink and drive.

An alcohol content of 0.08% or more for all drivers, 0.02% or more for all minors under 21, and 0.04% or more for all commercial vehicle drivers are all considered DUI.

There may be other instances wherein you are intoxicated with alcohol and/or drugs and an officer stops you because he is suspicious that your driving skill is impaired by alcohol. This scenario can also be grounds for DUI. If a driver is found with an alcohol content of 0.15% or more in his system, he will face stricter and more severe punishments.

It is common knowledge to every citizen of the country that an implied consent law is imposed wherein an arresting officer can request a BAC test from a driver if he feels that you are driving while intoxicated with alcohol or drugs. Failure to take test can be admissible as court evidence and will warrant a longer license suspension time.

A court case and an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) Hearing will be filed against you after the arrest. The state of Nebraska will prove beyond doubt that you are driving under the influence and if found guilty, will impose the jail time, fines, penalties, and other possible punishments.

Meanwhile, the ALR hearing will determine how long your driver’s license will be suspended. Counting from the date of your arrest, a 10-day period is given for you to file a proper request for an ALR hearing to plead your driver’s license suspension. A DUI attorney should help you do all the necessary paper work.

As soon as you are found guilty of DUI, Nebraska DUI Laws make sure that you are given the appropriate sanctions and punishments for your offense:

1. First DUI conviction – jail time of 7 days minimum up to 60 days, fines of up to $500, and license suspension of up to 6 months. If BAC is 0.15% or more, license suspension is increased to 1 year;
2. Second DUI conviction – jail time of 30 days minimum up to 90 days, fines of up to $500, and license suspension of 1 year. If BAC is 0.15% or more, jail time is increased to 90 days minimum up to 1 year, fines of up to $1,000, and license suspension of 1 to 15 years; and
3. Third DUI conviction – jail time of 90 days minimum up to 1 year, fines of up to $600, and license suspension of 2 to 15 years. If BAC is 0.15% or more, jail time is increased to 180 minimum up to 5 years, fines of up to $10,000, and license suspension of 5 to 15 years.

The fourth and succeeding DUI conviction is now considered a felony with much higher penalties, fines, and license suspensions not to mention the court-mandated alcohol assessment and alcohol treatment programs.