DUI Offenders  DUI Consequences  DUI Laws

Missouri DUI Laws


Missouri DUI Laws, like all the laws in the country follow the per se law that it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more.

Although some states have zero tolerance of blood alcohol content for minors under 21, the state of Missouri only considers DUI if the alcohol content in the system is 0.02% or more.

For commercial vehicle drivers, the state considers BAC of 0.04% or more as DUI.

Drunk driving cases in Missouri are commonly called as driving while intoxicated (DWI). If you are arrested of DWI in the state of Missouri, the arresting officer will invoke the implied consent law that states “all drivers must submit to a chemical analysis of their blood, breath or urine if they are suspected of driving while intoxicated.” Refusal to take the said test will result to longer license suspension that can last up to 1 year.

Once arrested, you will be filed with two separate suits. A criminal court case that will give out the jail time, fines, and penalties for your offense.

The other one is an administrative case that will give you the duration of driver’s license suspension. A good DUI defense attorney will help you file a hearing request to protect your driving rights. The request should be made 15 days after your arrest for it to qualify as valid. If you are not able to send a request your driver’s license will be automatically suspended.

If you are convicted of DUI, you will be given appropriate sanctions. Here are the sanctions for the offense frequency:

1. First DUI conviction – jail time of up to 6 months, fines up to $500, and license suspension for a full 30 days. After this time period it can be restricted for 60 days with the option to request for a reinstatement providing you present a proof of insurance, pay the reinstatement fee of $45 and install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
2. Second DUI conviction – jail time of up to 1 year, fines up to $1,000, and license suspension of 1 year and 5 years if the offense was committed within 5 years of the first conviction. A license reinstatement is allowed after 1 year provided that an ignition interlock device is installed in the vehicle. You will have to comply a Missouri SR22 Insurance as proof and pay the license reinstatement fee of $45.
3. Third DUI conviction – jail time of up 4 years, fines up to $5,000, and license suspension of 10 years. You can apply for a license reinstatement if you have complied with all the requirements as mentioned in the first two offenses.

Missouri DUI laws also stipulate other possibilities like alcohol or drug treatment programs.