DUI Offenders  DUI Consequences  DUI Laws

Mississippi DUI Laws


Mississippi DUI Laws, like all other laws across the country, have strict punishments for driving under influence.

The usual laws apply for an individual to be considered DUI. A blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more for all drivers will constitute an arrest.

For minors under 21, the BAC limit is set at 0.02% and for commercial vehicle drivers it is 0.04%. If any of these limits have been violated you can be arrested for DUI.

However, if you are intoxicated with alcohol and/or drugs, and your driving ability has been impaired because of this, you can still be arrested.

If you are arrested, you will be charged with two cases:

(1) a criminal court case;

(2) a Mississippi Department of Motor Vehicle administrative case.

The first case will take charge of imposing penalties, jail times, fines, and community service.

The administrative case, on the other hand is in charge of imposing the appropriate duration of license suspension. To request a hearing for your administrative case, a 10-day period is given.

To do things properly consult a DUI defense lawyer who is highly skilled. During an arrest you will be requested by the police officer to take a BAC test, if you refuse to take it you will automatically lose your driver’s license.

Moreover, during the trial even if your lawyer proved your innocence, a 90-day license suspension will still be imposed for refusing to take the test.

The court and the Department of Motor Vehicle will decide on the best course of action to enforce according to the offense frequency, including other aggravating factors that may increase your punishment. If you are guilty, these are your punishments:

1. First DUI conviction – jail time of up to 48 hours, fines of $250 to $1,000, and license suspension for 90 days with the possibility to apply for hardship license after 30 days of suspension;
2. Second DUI conviction – jail time of 5 days to 1 year, fines of $600 to $1,500, and license suspension for 2 years. An additional community service should be undertaken for 10 days to 1 year; and
3. Third DUI conviction – jail time of 1 to 5 years, fines of $2,000 to $5,000, and license suspension for 5 years. Additionally, you also have to undergo through an alcohol or drug abuse program.

Other possibilities like: attending victim impact panel, undergoing complete alcohol safety education program, and impoundment and immobilization of all registered vehicles.

Mississippi DUI Laws is strict when it comes to DUI offenses, so don’t drink and drive.