DUI Offenders  DUI Consequences  DUI Laws

Louisiana DUI Laws


Louisiana DUI Laws state that if you have a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or greater, it can be grounds for a DUI arrest. On the same note, a minor under 21 with a BAC of 0.02% or more and a commercial vehicle driver with a BAC of 0.04% or more will also be arrested.

You can also be arrested if your driving ability is impaired because of intoxication. These are two of the instances in which an arresting officer will pull over your vehicle.

Driving under influence is considered a misdemeanor in the state of Louisiana; however, if you have two DUI convictions within a 10-year period, it can be considered a DWI felony. Upon committing a DWI felony, you will be given more severe punishments than the ordinary DUI offense.

You will be charged with two separate cases on your arrest. A criminal court case is in charge of enforcing the appropriate penalties and fines depending on the frequency of your offense. The Department of Public Safety and Corrections administrative case is in charge of the suspension of your driver’s license. To prevent your driver’s license from being suspended, a hearing should be requested 15 days within your arrest date.

To know more about the proper way of requesting a hearing from the said department, contact a skilled DUI defense lawyer to assist you.

If found guilty of the DUI offense, the following penalties, fines, license suspensions, and other sanctions will be imposed on you:

1. First DUI conviction – jail time of up to 6 months, fines of up to $1,000, license suspension of 90 days or 6 months for minors under 21, and payment to the Victim’s Restitution Funds;
2. Second DUI conviction – mandatory jail time of 48 hours to 6 months, fines of up to $1,000, license suspension of up to 1 year;
3. Third DUI conviction – considered a felony offense with mandatory jail time of 45 days to 5 years, fines of up to $2,000, license suspension of up to 2 years, community service for 30 days, and substance abuse treatment for 6 weeks as an inpatient; and
4. Fourth DUI conviction – also considered a felony offense with mandatory jail time of 75 days to 30 years, fines of up to $5,000, license suspension of 2 years, community service for 40 days, and substance abuse treatment for 6 weeks as an inpatient.

Louisiana DUI Laws state that after serving the license suspension time you need to have insurance to obtain your license again. Now the scenario will be either your insurance company will refuse and drop your policy because of your conviction or it will increase your policy rates, as well as for others in your policy. DUI will not only harm you and other people’s lives, but it is also expensive and difficult.