DUI Offenders  DUI Consequences  DUI Laws

Kentucky DUI Laws


Kentucky DUI Laws stipulate two ways in which you can be arrested for DUI:

One is intoxication of alcohol and/or drugs that leads to impaired driving and the other is a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more for regular drivers, 0.02% or more for minors under the age of 21, and 0.04% or more for commercial vehicle drivers.

The state of Kentucky also has a list of aggravating factors that will increase your jail time once this is present during your arrest. The list includes:

1. Operating a vehicle in excess of 30 miles/hour above the speed limit;
2. Operating a vehicle in the wrong direction on a limited access highway;
3. Operating a vehicle that caused an accident resulting to injury or death;
4. Operating a vehicle with an alcohol concentration in the driver’s blood is 0.18% or more as measured by tests taken within 2 hours of cessation of operation of the motor vehicle;
5. Refusing to take any kind of test as requested by the arresting officer who believes there is reasonable ground that a driver is in violation of the state’s DUI laws; and
6. Operating a vehicle with a child under 12 years old on board.

Upon arrest you will be charged with a DUI offense and the court will enforce the necessary penalties, fines, and license suspensions. To know your driving rights, hire a DUI defense lawyer who can assist you through the process.

In Kentucky DUI Laws, if you are found guilty of a DUI offense you will face the following sanctions:

1. First DUI conviction – jail time of 2 days up to 30 days, fines from $200 to $500, and license suspension of 30 to 120 days. Jail time for aggravated DUI is increased to 4 days minimum;
2. Second DUI conviction – jail time of 7 days up to 6 months, fines from $350 to $500, and license suspension of 12 to 18 months. Jail time for aggravated DUI is increased to 14 days minimum;
3. Third DUI conviction – jail time of 30 days up to 12 months, fines from $500 to $1,000, and license suspension of 24 to 36 months. Jail time for aggravated DUI is increased to 60 days minimum;
4. Fourth DUI conviction – since this act is considered a felony offense a minimum jail time of 120 days is required, fines range from $500 to$1,000, and license suspension can last up to 60 months. Jail time for aggravated DUI is increased to 240 days minimum.

Plus, the court also mandates community service and alcohol or drug treatment program according the frequency of offense. It can last up to a number of hours to a number of months.