DUI Offenders  DUI Consequences  DUI Laws

Illinois DUI Laws


Illinois DUI Laws dictate that a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more can trigger a DUI arrest.

For minors under 21, a BAC of 0.02% or more is grounds for DUI. For commercial vehicle drivers, a BAC of 0.04% or more is considered driving under influence. Based on the result of the BAC test, a police officer has the right to arrest you.

Furthermore, Illinois’ laws state that you don’t have to be driving the vehicle to be charged with DUI. As long as you are sitting in the driver’s seat, regardless if the vehicle is parked, you can be arrested.

During the time of arrest, you can be charged with a criminal court case and a Department of Motor Vehicle administrative case. These two will tackle different punishments for the DUI offense if you are proven guilty. The criminal case will impose the appropriate penalties and fines; on the other hand, the administrative case is in charge of determining the duration of the driver’s license suspension.

To avoid automatic suspension of your driver’s license you can request for a hearing. Since filing for a hearing requires the necessary paper works to be handled properly, you should consult a skilled DUI defense lawyer.

Once you are convicted of a DUI offense, the court will enforce the appropriate penalties and fines:

1. First DUI conviction – jail time of up to 1 year and fines of up to $2,500;
2. Second DUI conviction – jail time of up to 1 year, with 5 days mandatory jail time or community service for 240 days and a maximum fine of $2,500; and
3. Third DUI conviction – jail time of up to 7 years and a maximum fine of $2,500.

Moreover, if the blood alcohol content found in your system exceeds the 0.16% threshold or if during the arrest you have a minor under 16 on board the vehicle, the penalties and fines you will receive will be more severe than the usual DUI sanctions. Aside from the penalties and fines imposed you will also be enforced to do community service and a vehicle registration suspension will be issued.

The Idaho DMV issues the following license suspension for the following offenses:
1. First offense – 3 months
2. Second offense – 1 year
3. Third or subsequent offense – 3 years

Since Illinois DUI Laws have a lot of rules and regulations a DUI defense lawyer should be hired for assistance.