DUI Offenders  DUI Consequences  DUI Laws

Hawaii DUI Laws


Hawaii DUI Laws are strict when it comes to imposing DUI. You can be arrested in either of the two instances:

If you are intoxicated with alcohol or drugs and your driving is impaired on the basis of your physical appearance, driving patterns, and field sobriety tests as determined by the arresting officer on the scene; and/or if you have violated the per se law, which applies to all states, of reaching or exceeding the blood alcohol content of 0.08%.

For minors under 21, you can be charged with DUI if your BAC is 0.02% or more. For commercial vehicle drivers, a BAC of 0.04% or more is grounds for DUI. The state of Hawaii has a DUI classification called “highly intoxicated driver” that applies to drivers who have BAC of 0.15% or above.

One of the first of the many procedures you will undergo during a DUI arrest is to submit yourself to a BAC test, which is an implied consent law by all US states, to determine the alcohol content in your system. If you refuse to take the test, you will be faced with penalties and this will only add up to the consequences you will face. If you can’t decide on whether to take the exam or not, you can hire a DUI defense lawyer to assist you.

Once arrested you will face two cases. A District court case is in charge of imposing the appropriate penalties, fines, and programs or evaluations based on the gravity of the offense. An Administrative Driver’s License Revocation Office case is in charge of the driver’s license suspension.

For the latter case, you will request a hearing from the said office to protect your driving rights. To do the request appropriately you should hire an experienced DUI defense lawyer.

A DUI conviction has appropriate penalties, fines, and license suspensions as issued by the courts and the Administrative Driver’s License Revocation Office. Here is a list:

1. First DUI conviction – jail time of 48 hours to 5 days, fines from $150 to $1,000, Special Trauma Fund of $25 to $50, community service of 72 hours, and 3 months license suspension;
2. Second DUI conviction – jail time of 5 to 14 days, fines from $500 to $1,000, Special Trauma Fund of $50 to $75, minimum community service of 240 hours, and 1 year license suspension; and
3. Third DUI conviction – jail time of 10 to 30 days, fines from $500 to $2,500, Special Trauma Fund of $50, minimum community service of 240 hours, and 1 to 5 years license suspension.

Hawaii DUI Laws also specify that if you have a child under 15 onboard the vehicle during the arrest, you will be imposed with stricter penalties and fines. Furthermore, you will be subjected to a complete court-ordered substance abuse or education program.