DUI Offenders  DUI Consequences  DUI Laws

Connecticut DUI Laws


Connecticut DUI laws state that the expressions driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving under the influence (DUI), and drunk driving are one and the same. You will be prosecuted of the same crime with the same penalties and sanctions.

The state’s DUI laws state that you can be arrested and charged of DUI in one of two ways:

An individual intoxicated with alcohol or drugs and is impaired due to the intoxication, and violation of the per se law of driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more. For the impaired driving due to intoxication instance, you don’t have to have any particular blood alcohol level in your system to be prosecuted. The signs of impairment can be observed basing on your driving pattern, chemical tests, or field sobriety tests.

On the other hand, in the per se law instance, the individual’s driving won’t have to be impaired because the prosecution will be solely based on the body chemistry.

The state of Connecticut imposes stricter laws when it comes to minors and commercial vehicle drivers. For minors under 21, it is illegal to drive if the blood alcohol content is 0.02% or greater. For commercial vehicle drivers, a BAC of 0.04% or greater is considered DUI.

If you are arrested of DUI, two cases are triggered. One is the criminal court case where you will be sanctioned with the consequences of your DUI conviction. The other is a Department of Motor Vehicle hearing. Of the two, the DMV hearing is more pressing. You have to request for a DMV hearing five days after you have been arrested. If the 5-day time period has elapsed, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended without the right to argue your case.

The following are the fines and penalties of a person convicted of DUI:

1. First DUI offense – jail time of 48 hours minimum up to 6 months, fines from $500 to $1,000, in lieu of jail time the court may mandate community service of 100 hours, and license suspension of 6 months;
2. Second DUI offense – jail time of 120 days minimum up to 2 years, fines from $1,000 to $4,000 and license suspension of 1 year; and
3. Third DUI offense – jail time of 1 year minimum up to 3 years, fines from $ 2,000 to $8,000, and license suspension of 3 years.

Connecticut DUI laws state that if convicted your DUI offenses will stay on record for 10 years. If you are convicted of another DUI offense within the 10-year period, you will have higher penalties; however, if the offense is committed after 10 years, you will be meted out with the same punishment.