DUI Offenders  DUI Consequences  DUI Laws

Colorado DUI Laws


Colorado DUI Laws, Like most US state laws, impose a DUI charge to an individual based on two instances:

if your driving is impaired because you are intoxicated with alcohol or if your blood alcohol content has gone above the 0.08% per se law of Colorado.

For the former, you can be detained even if you have not violated the per se law. Aside from the common drunk-driving law imposed by all the states, Colorado includes a special DUI law called driving while ability impaired (DWAI), which can have you arrested if your BAC is 0.05% or more.

If you are arrested for a DUI charge, you will be tried in two cases: a criminal court case and a Department of Motor Vehicle case. For the second case, you have to contact a DUI lawyer to assist in filing a request for a hearing to protect your driver’s license. You are given 7 days after you have been arrested of DUI to make that request, otherwise your driver’s license will be automatically suspended.

The penalties imposed by the court vary if you are convicted of DUI or DWAI. For the DUI conviction here are the following sanctions:
1. First DUI conviction – jail time of 5 days to 1 year, fines from $600 to $1,000 and community service of 48 to 96 hours. For the first conviction, the court may grant jail time suspension in lieu of an alcohol treatment program accredited by the state
2. Second DUI conviction – jail time of 90 days to 1 year, fines from $1,000 to $1,500, and community service of 60 to 120 hours.
3. Third DUI conviction – jail time of 70 days to 1 year, fines from $900 to $1,500, and community service of 56 to 112 hours.

The penalties for DWAI conviction are slightly lesser than DUI. To be charged with DWAI you have to have a BAC content of 0.05, but less than 0.08. For your first DWAI conviction you will be sanctioned with lesser punishments but you can still be arrested. You may spend time in jail for 48 hours to 180 days and fines from $200 to $500. You will be mandated to render community service of 24 to 48 hours.

The Department of Motor Vehicles also imposes a license suspension for DUI and DWAI convicted individuals. For the first offense, a 3-month driver’s suspension is imposed; for the second offense, a 1-year driver’s suspension; and for the third offense, a 2-year driver’s suspension. Prior to the reinstatement of your license, Colorado DUI Laws also mandate the individual to install an ignition interlock device in all of your vehicles.