DUI Offenders  DUI Consequences  DUI Laws

Alaska DUI Laws


Alaska DUI Laws state that a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more is considered DWI.  You can be detained and sentenced to DUI if your system’s alcohol is equal to or more than this range as shown by the blood alcohol content test.

In Alaska, you can also be convicted based on any one of these evidence: the driving pattern of the driver, field sobriety tests, or circumstantial evidence like appearance. If you will be convicted based on any of these evidence, your BAC test won’t matter.

Once proven of DUI, two cases will be possibly filed against you. A criminal court case and an administrative hearing for refusal to take the BAC test. The former case will determine the sanctions you will receive including jail time and fines you are to pay. The latter case will be the deciding factor if you are still capable of driving in the state.

During this administrative hearing, you will be given the right to defend yourself by presenting evidence to reduce license suspension time. You must request the hearing within 7 days of your arrest otherwise it will result to the automatic revocation of your license. On the other hand, if you have requested hearing within 7 days you will be provided with temporary driving privileges until the day of your hearing.

The fines and penalties for DUI in Alaska vary depending on the number of convictions. Here are the consequences depending on the offense frequency:

  1. First DUI offense – Minimum imprisonment of 72 hours, fine of $1,500, and minimum driver’s license suspension for 90 days;
  2. Second DUI offense – Minimum imprisonment of 20 days, fine of $3,000, and minimum driver’s license suspension for 1 year;
  3. Third DUI offense – If you are convicted within 10 years of a previous DUI conviction, it can be classified as class C felony with minimum imprisonment of 60 or 120 days, fine of $4,000 or $10,000, and minimum driver’s license suspension for 3 years or permanent suspension of driver’s license;
  4. Fourth DUI offense – This offense also has the same law when it comes to previous convictions. Considered a class C felony with minimum imprisonment of 90 days or 120 days, fine of $5,000 or $10,000, and minimum driver’s license suspension for 5 years or a permanent suspension.

If your driver’s license is revoked by Alaska’s Department of Motor Vehicle, Alaska DUI laws state that you need to pay a fee and take additional tests to have it reinstated. Additionally, you will need to present proof of insurance for 3 years after the 3-year revocation period ends. Since you already have a DUI record insurance providers may charge you more for your insurance.